Building a multiband compressor - all help appreciated

edited April 2020 in Presets and projects

I’ve decided the best way for me to learn Drambo is by biting off more than I can chew.

To this end I am trying to build my own multiband compressor.

I took @rs2000 ’s simple noise gate (env follower - graphic shaper - amp mod) as a starting point, and think I have managed to make a very simple 1-band compressor so far.

I’m just starting out, so please don’t laugh :)

Here’s the current patch...

and the band 1 comp expanded...

I’’d love for some advice about things I’m doing wrong / could do better.

Thanks in advance..

Comments

• Looking forward for this, and as a side note, I’m also very interested in learning best practices in separating a sound into bands. I know about filters, but for really tight separation, maybe what? Filters in series and really fine cutoff tuning?

• edited April 2020

I’m also available to chat about this project over on Discord, user tk32#8493

• The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • Latest version of my 1-band compressor

• +1 for biting off more than you can chew!

If you want to build a multi-band compressor, it depends what you want to achieve in this first step.

Let's start with a simple structure and only 1 band.

The idea of a basic compressor is to reduce the output level of the processed input signal proportional to its input level. The louder your signal is, the more you want the compressor to "turn down the volume knob".

It would be desirable to be able to adjust the compression curve directly in the graphic shaper so let's try and build the necessary logic around that.

The Graphic Shaper only holds the volume curve so you have to feed it with a good representation of the input signal and it will give you the volume to set at the output.