Microtuning

Please forgive me if I missed this somewhere else. I’m new to Drambo, but totally loving it. Im looking for a way to implement or use microtuning in Drambo. If there’s .tun or scala file support that would be awesome. If it needs to be built with modules - I coukdn’t get that going - probably misunderstanding something there. Any advice is appreciated.oh, Would like to keep drambo standalone if possible for simplicity. If there’s a host or additional app that would help fire away. Ive searched around some but my health is not the best at the moment so Its a very good chance I missed something obvious. Thanks again!

Comments

• edited November 2021

No .tun or scala file support but you can create your own custom tunings in several ways.

For a start, the simplest way to do it is to use the Scale+Offset module to change the pitch scale between the MIDI to CV pitch output and the pitch input of an oscillator.

This will compress or expand the scale of notes coming into the track. The offset knob (move horizontally to fine tune) will help you re-tune the pitch of the whole scale.

Finer adjustments for each note could be done using the Graphic Shaper module.

Someone who knows how to code could develop a converter that will convert .tun or scala files into Graphic Shaper presets as it works with plain text XML files.

• @rs2000 Your suggestion of using the Graphic Shaper has me thinking. If the required adjustment off equal-tempered is the same in each octave (logarithmically, of course), I could reduce the CV to its note in the octave, relative to a reference key. Use Graphic Shaper to look up the required offset, and add it to the original CV to detune the notes as needed. This doesn't apply to tunings with more notes, like quarter tones, etc., but could create "natural" tunings.

• if you’ve got miRack you can host that in drambo and use the Scala tuning module in there