Infinite drones in Drambo?

Hey all, I’m fairly new to Drambo and having lots of fun with it. I decided to create an ambient track today with an infinite drone at its core. The pattern is a simple 16 steps, and I have all sorts of conditions on different tracks/steps to create randomness.

For the drone, I want it to trigger on step one and stay held forever unless I stop the sequencer, but I can’t quite figure out how to get there, or if that’s possible.

I tried setting a note on step one with the once only condition, which works, but even if I set the gate to infinite it enters the release/decay phase after beat 16.

The only thing that works is removing the amp envelope and just letting it ring. This works for a performance since I can just manually adjust volumes, but it’s clunky and blares as soon as I load the project.

Any ideas?

Comments

• edited February 2022

I’m sure there’s more than one way. But use the switch module, connect it as the gate for the amp envelope, and just p-lock on step one “switch on” (hold step one and tap the switch). It stays open for the duration of the pattern running.

• edited February 2022

Here's how I've helped myself a while ago, for the lack of a "Transport Status" module.

It's basically a lowpass filtered pulse train that will give you a positive gate signal as long as the transport is running.

Gate time and negative offset help to get a better gate signal.

The Clock Gen input is connected to the Track's Time Signal.

The OSC is just for testing, replace it with your drone source.

• There’s so many ways to do this :) here’s my “clock running check”. It subtracts a very short delayed signal of the clock from the clock, takes an absolute/positive value from it, then checks to see if that signal is greater than zero. If it is, the function module outputs a value of 1.

• edited February 2022

having drones volume on scene x-fader is what I do (A silent - B some level of drone (for starters))