Pattern length ?

edited December 2023 in General app discussion

Hi,

I'm new to Drambo so maybe it is something I missed, but is it possible to change the length of the patterns ?

I know how to change the steps per beat, the number of beats in a pattern, the number of steps in a clip and the step jump component. But the pattern itself is always the same length. For example if I choose to put a step jump component on the 2nd step of a clip to jump to the 16th step, it won't switch to the next pattern automatically, it will loop until the pattern is finished.

Or, if I want all my tracks in one pattern to only have a clip with 3 steps, the pattern will loop until it's finished to switch to the next. But I would like the pattern to switch directly when the 3 steps clips are done.

I'm not talking about switching patterns manually, but rather when it changes automatically when you press play.

So, it seems that the pattern length is not something you can change ?

I hope I'm clear :)

Comments

• You're correct, except setting 3, 4 or 5 steps per beat and the number of repeats you can't set the pattern length and even if the longest clip in the pattern is much shorter, the pattern will at least have 4 bars.

More flexibility during composing has been a regular request (and we know from KORG Gadget that it makes sense) so I'm quite sure that will be taken care of sooner or later.

• Thanks for your answer rs2000.

That would be amazing because Drambo is already far more powerful than any hardware box like, say, the Dirtywave M8 or the Octatrack, but that's the only thing they have that Drambo doesn't have.

The Arranger of the Octatrack lets you play a clip from any step to any step and it's non-destructive. For example you can choose to play a 16 steps clip from the 2nd step to the 7th step only. That's quite unique because the clip itself is not affected.