MIDI Out with layers?

Hi all,

I’m pretty new to Drambo, so apologies in advance if there is an easy answer that I’ve overlooked.

I’m working on a setup that would ideally have multiple Sequencer objects that are organized in a Layer stack. However, I can’t seem to find a way to get MIDI out of Layer objects. Is there a way? As far as I can tell, the Layer (and Layer Mixer) will only pass CV. I’d like the full MIDI message to pass through OR a way to have DESIGNATED multiple outputs from the Layer object.

Thanks! Loving this software, it’s the answer to a lot of my workflow issues.

-j

Comments

• Not as yet.

Midi Layers are on route.

• Thanks for the reply! I guess I’ll find a compromise for now and patiently await MIDI Layers!

• No problem.

What you could do is use either "Rack" which you can find under Utilities

basically it's like Instrument, Processor, Midi Rack rolled into one

or possibly the Voice selector (cv,gate,vel) with Many to Poly.

What are you trying to achieve as I'm sure someone on here will know how to do it or close to.

• edited September 2023

There's the MIDI 1-N and N-1 switches plus the MIDI rack that lets you hide complexity. Not a replacement for MIDI Layers though.

• Thanks again for the replies.

My goal is to use the new sequencer object to store multiple sequences which would be triggered by different keys. However, unless I’ve missed something, each incidence of Sequencer only allows one sequence. So, I’ve used 12 separate Sequence objects to allow for 12 different notes to trigger 12 different sequences.

Visual real estate and ergonomic workflow are important to me, so I figured embedding these into Layers would allow for quick switching between Sequencers, however, I cannot seem to figure out a way to have the objects in Layers send all their data - it seems that layers ultimately only allow one output, so I cannot get Velocity AND Gate AND Note out of the sequences so long as they are in Layers.