CV External instrument problem

Hello, I'm new to dRambo and i want to use it only as sequencer for my ext gear.

I want to to sequence my DFAM using MOTU Ultralite mk5 DC coupled outs.

I already succesfully synced it and get gate to work but i have problem with getting CV pitch right.

Apart from pitch calibration, pitch seems to change with really slow glide. It doesn't change instantly.

Everything seems ok and i don't know where to look for solution.

Bonus question: what will be proper CV scalling for this setup? Once i will be done with glide i will try to calibrate it trying various values, but maybe someone has some tips.

Comments

• It maybe possible that the outputs of the Motu aren’t changing voltage fast enough.

Do you have another synth you can test for CV pitch?

What is the maximum +- voltage that the Motu has on it’s outputs?

I have a Komplete Audio mkii which was +-2 v dc on it’s outputs which gives about 4 octaves at 1/V.

I’ve used a Behringer 902 to amplify the signal up to +-4 v dc which worked but has

it’s draw backs as the Behringer 902 is a VCA and I experienced the similar thing to you which is the notes

glide into place so I’m waiting for an Animodule Line Amp, which can boost two channels of CV, to arrive.

Both the Maths module from Make Noise and Abacus by Behringer can scale up the voltage needed.

The other thing you could get is a Doepfer A-183-3 which can amplifier a signal channel of CV.

Basically take the input voltage and boost it up to +-5v dc.

• edited September 2023

Funny that i was going insane for weeks with this and when i wrote this post i came with idea that i will open just drambo and setup it exactly the same as i had using dRambo in AUM with routing to motu.

Without aum it works perfectly. I even found out that scale 1.315 is in tune.

Somehow AUM interrupts the signal. Gotta double check everything, but no idea what causes this problem.

• @peterwyst